Click to return to homepage

Captain Zeppos -- Series Three

Click here to return to UK homepage

The Series
• Series One
• Series One (BBC)
• Series Two
• Series Three
• Kurrel & Co.
• The Feature Film

Further Detail
• Biographies
• The Cars
• Merchandise
• Home Video

• Museum at the Mill
• Zeppos Cafι
• BRT/VRT Series

• What's New?
• Credits & Links
• Contact Us

Copyright Notice:
The television programme Kapitein Zeppos is © VRT. Adventurer makes no attempt to assume or supercede copyright. Copyright remains with the copyright holders.

The entire written content of this website is © Alan Hayes and Patrick Van de Weghe and reproduction is forbidden without express permission.

This website is a non-profit making, academic reference and research work, written and compiled in private study and is classified under the Copyright Designs and Patents Act 1988 as "Fair Dealing".

Series Three Pages:


Episode Guide

Cast and Crew


The series used several major filming locations, taking in the towns, cities and countryside of Belgium. In addition to those below, the series returned to the Onze-Lieve-Vroux-Lombeek windmill, Pajottenland, once more the setting for Zeppos' home in Belder. Please use the "more" links at the bottom of the page to access further Series 3 locations.

Fort VII Aerial PhotographOne of the more striking locations used in the series has to be the fort used in the third serial, Tweng. The Kapitein Zeppos production team filmed in the courtyards of the fort and even in the tunnels beneath the buildings.

The venue for these scenes was in reality Fort VII in Wilrijk, one of eight fortresses built in 1859 around the city of Antwerp. These forts were constructed in response it being decided that Antwerp should be central to the defence of Belgium. The city on the River Scheld had to become a defence line against attacks. General Henri-Alexis Brialmont, an excellent military leader, designed the plans for the fortresses. The wall together with the eight forts became known as the Brialmontgordel (Brialmont belt).

A scene on location at Fort VII from Tweng.The eight fortresses were built approximately four thousand metres from the city wall, separated from each other by two thousand metres. All the fortresses still exist today, with the exception of Fort I which was pulled down in 1950 to straighten a road (Turnhoutsebaan), though some were partly destroyed in the Second World War during bombardments. After the war they became defunct and were developed as an oasis for wildlife. Most fortresses are nowadays protected as buildings of national importance. This means it is not permitted to demolish or alter them. Fort VII, the one used as a location in Tweng, is even designated as an area of natural beauty, its flora and fauna similarly protected.

There are eighteen kilometres of roadway connecting the fortresses, from Fort I (destroyed - now Wijnegem shopping centre) to Fort II (Wommelgem), Fort III (Borsbeek), Fort IV (Mortsel), Fort V (Edegem), Fort VI and VII (Wilrijk) and Fort VIII near the river (Hoboken).

For a map showing the positions of the eight forts, please follow this link.


For other pages in this section, please use the links at the top of the page.